Bah Humbug

Christmas is my least favourite time of year. If it was actually about seeing your family and celebrating a special time of year, then I think I would actually like it. But for me, it’s all about my family guilting us into driving around to see them.

This year our budget is tight. We don’t have the money to purchase a present for every single family member. So we were hoping to talk to our parents and say, let’s not do presents this year. However, that is not turning out to be the case. The topic has been broached with one of the more pricklier parents, and they have responded that they have already purchased one of our presents (this I do not believe). They have then gone on to say, well if you aren’t going to worry about presents, let’s just not do Christmas at all then.

When did Christmas become just about receiving presents? And when did it become an obligation? I mean, why can’t our parents come visit us throughout the year, if they want to see us more often. We make e effort to drive out to all of them once a month. We have three sets we need to see, and they all live in different directions. So we do our best.

We get complaints that they don’t see us very often. We have full time jobs and are renovating a house. They are all semi retired, and I can count the number of times each of them has come to visit on one hand, and we have been here for nearly two years.

I guess what I am getting at is that, it goes both ways. They can come visit us, instead of summoning us. And especially summoning us with guilt at Christmas. It’s ridiculous. Christmas for me has turned into the dreaded drive around, spending more time in the car travelling between family members because they all want to see us on Christmas Day, then we actually spend with family.

I want Christmas to go back to being the joyful time of year that it is meant to be. I just don’t see that happening anytime soon. Maybe when we have kids it might change. And all I can hope is that in 25 years time, when they are living out of home, I don’t make them feel guilty at Christmas time and that I haven’t become an obligation to them.

Always & Forever
Mrs T xx

Leave a Reply

